Thursday, August 27, 2015

Recapping the Canadian Championship

For the first time in franchise history, the Vancouver Whitecaps are the winners of the Canadian Championship, and as a result, they'll be headed back to the CONCACAF Champions League next year. Here's a quick recap of the tournament in case you missed it as well as a little bit on the tournament's history:

Preliminary Round

FC Edmonton 3 Ottawa Fury FC 1
FC Edmonton 3 Ottawa Fury FC 1, FC Edmonton wins 6-2


Montreal Impact 1 Toronto FC 0
Toronto FC 3 Montreal Impact 2, Tie 3-3 - Montreal wins 2-0 on away goals tiebreaker

Goals for TOR: Jozy Altidore (1), Benoît Cheyrou (1), Sebastian Giovinco (1)
Goals for MON: Jack McInerney (1), Kenny Cooper (1), Dominic Oduro (1)

Vancouver Whitecaps FC 1 FC Edmonton 1
Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2 FC Edmonton 1, Vancouver wins 3-2

Goals for VAN: Gershon Koffie (1), Pedro Morales (1), Matías Laba (1)


Vancouver Whitecaps 2 Montreal Impact 2
Vancouver Whitecaps 2 Montreal Impact 0, Vancouver wins 4-2

Goals for VAN: Darren Mattocks (1), Pedro Morales (2), Octavio Rivero (1), Tim Parker (1)
Goals for MON: Laurent Ciman (1), Anthony Jackson-Hamel (1)

*Pedro Morales was the only MLS player to score multiple goals, but the tournament's Golden Boot went to Edmonton's Tomi Amoebi, who scored twice against Ottawa and then twice against Vancouver.

*The Canadian Championship has been in existence since 2008, but has only been played in its current format since 2011. Regardless of format, the Championship had previously been won only by Montreal and Toronto. Vancouver was the runner-up every year from 2009-2013. Toronto has won the Championship four times and Montreal three.

*Vancouver was knocked out of last year's tournament in the semifinals by Toronto when they lost on penalty kicks.

No comments:

Post a Comment