Thursday, February 26, 2015

CONCACAF U-17 Tourney Ready to Kick Off

The 2015 CONCACAF U-17 Tournament kicks off tomorrow in Honduras. Like the U-20 tournament last month, the tournament features two groups of six, with the top 3 teams in each group advancing to the playoff round. The winners of each group automatically qualify for the U-17 World Cup this summer while the winners of the two playoff games advance as well. Group A is comprised of Honduras, Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, Jamaica and the U.S. while Group B is made up of Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Panama, Saint Lucia and tournament favorites Mexico. Here's a look at the U.S.'s schedule:

2/27 - vs Cuba
3/2 - vs Trinidad and Tobago
3/5 - vs Guatemala
3/8 - vs Honduras
3/11 - vs Jamaica

Canada, Honduras, Panama and Mexico were the top four teams the last time the tournament took place (2013) with Mexico defeating Panama 2-1 in the final.

No comments:

Post a Comment