Monday, October 27, 2014

MLS Conference Realignment Coming

So if you didn't already hear, Chivas USA is going away after this season which means next year we'll have a 20 team league with the additions of Orlando City FC and New York FC. Here's what the new conference alignment looks like:


Chicago Fire, Columbus Crew, DC United, Montreal Impact, New England Revolution, New York Red Bulls, New York City FC, Orlando City FC, Philadelphia Union, Toronto FC


Colorado Rapids, FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, Sporting Kansas City, LA Galaxy, Portland Timbers, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders, Vancouver Whitecaps FC

So in essence, the Western Conference traded away Chivas USA for Defending MLS Champs Sporting Kansas City, and the Houston Dynamo while the East adds expansion clubs New York City FC and Orlando City FC. So next year in the West, three of the following clubs won't make the postseason: Dallas, Houston, Sporting KC, LA, Portland, Real Salt Lake, Seattle and Vancouver. BRUTAL.

But hey, maybe Toronto will finally make the postseason!

ESPN Article on Chivas USA

No comments:

Post a Comment